Championship Titles

Different Performance Championship Titles Your Dog Can Earn

For dogs to have a championship or Ch designation that is added as a prefix to their name, they must qualify for a championship. In the past, titles are earned from conformation shows, where dogs are judged based on their breed, and how they conform to established breed types and individual breed standards. These days, however, dogs are considered champions if they attain a high degree of perfection in other dogs sports and performance championships.

Different kinds of performance championships for dogs

Championship titles often differ from one club to another. The American Kennel Club, for example, has the Amateur Field Trial Champion (AFC), Coonhound Field Champion (CFC), and Supreme Grand Champion (CSG), among others. The USDAA, on the other hand, follows the international standards for their Championship Program, Performance Program and Junior Handler Program.

When it comes to Performance Championships, the most common are listed below.

Agility championship

This type of championship reflects on a dog’s precision and running time, but on an even higher perfection. Individual championships are offered by large organizations, while teams compete for the Fédération Cynologique Internationale’s World Agility Championships. Most of these teams are sponsored by national kennel clubs.

Coursing championships

The type of championships are offered by various coursing clubs, which include the North American Open Field Association, the North American Coursing Association, the American Sighthound Field Association, and the American Kennel Club.  Titles earned will depend on the club offering the coursing championship. The Coursing Champion (CC) title is offered by the North American Open field Association, while the NACA Coursing Champion (NACC) title is offered by the North American Coursing Association.

Hunting trial championships

Hunting retriever championships (HRCH) is offered by the United Kennel Club for dogs who have earned an accumulated 100 Championship points from a series of hunt tests. Depending on the tests passed and a dog’s level, the number of points awarded will increase.

The American Kennel Club, on the other hand, offers different hunting dog championships, some of which are based on specific types of hunting. There are performance championships for Nite Champion and Water Race Champion.

Obedience Trial Championships (OTCH)

In the American Kennel Club, for a dog and handler to receive an OTCH, they must receive 100 points by taking the 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th place in the Open B or Utility B class, and taking 1st place for three times in Utility B and/or Open B.

In the United Kennel Club, the Obedience Trial Championship (U-OTCH) has similar requirements.

Tracking championships

Offered by the American Kennel Club, tracking championship titles vary from one category to another. Champion tracker (CT), for example, is awarded to dogs that hold all 3 tracking titles – TD (Tracking Dog) or TDU (Tracking Dog Urban), TDX (Tracking Dog Excellent) and VST (Variable Surface Tracking.

Weight pull championships

This championship is offered by the United Kennel Club (US), which will earn a dog the WPCH or WPCh title added as a prefix to its registered name.

Other performance championships for dogs are the Flyball championships, Herding championships, Disc Dog championships, and the Multiple Event championships.

As Always,


Comments are closed.